GG Scholar Find a program

Guide · 2026–27 season

Esports scholarship requirements

Most esports scholarships require a minimum GPA (usually 2.0–3.0), full-time enrollment, a roster spot earned through tryouts or recruiting, and staying on the team; some also set a rank minimum. Of 102 programs offering esports scholarships, 71 publish their terms.

Updated · Figures from GG Scholar's directory of college esports programs and the U.S. Department of Education. How we verify

The usual esports scholarship requirements

Few programs publish every rule, but the ones that do are consistent. From the 71 programs with published terms:

Minimum GPA
20
publish one; median 2.0
Credit load
8
state minimum credits
Rank / skill
13
publish a requirement
Renewable
10
say so explicitly
  • Make the roster. Scholarships go to players on the team, chosen by tryout or recruiting (11 programs state a tryout explicitly).
  • Keep your grades. A minimum GPA to earn the award, to keep it, or both.
  • Enroll full time. Usually 12 credit hours or more per semester.
  • Stay active. Practice, competition and team conduct rules apply; leaving the team usually ends the award.
  • Timing. 10 programs offer their award only to incoming first-year or transfer students.

Check your GPA against published minimums

Enter your GPA to see which programs' published minimums you meet.

Esports scholarship terms, program by program

CollegeMin GPACreditsRank / skillRenewableStacksNew students onlyOther terms
Ashland UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0Maintain 2.0 minimum cumulative Ashland GPA 12 — — — — Complete FAFSA and Net Price Calculator; varsity players keep 100% of prize earnings
Boise State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0Maintain cumulative 2.0 — Top recruits: Grandmaster (OW2), SSL (Rocket League), Radiant (VALORANT), Master (SF6) Yes — No Full-time student; good standing with game publisher; renewed annually based on eligibility; auditions twice a year and current varsity members must re-try out; open to Idaho residents and out-of-state; applied for through Esports dept; scholarships limited
Cowley CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0must maintain 2.0 GPA — — — — — Must be an active part of E-Sports; maintain full-time enrollment (hours not stated); live on campus or locally with parent/guardian; Kansas resident or Connecting State resident; request via scholarship request form (100% online students must reside within 30 miles of a campus).
Glen Oaks Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source 2.02.0 GPA plus SAP to receive and renew — No rankings, stats or win record required Yes — No Must be admitted, enrolled at least half-time in a degree-seeking program, and an active varsity eSports team member; follow conduct and team policies; attend team practices and scheduled matches; support team operations (outreach, lab setup). Renewable each semester with continued eligibility.
Grand View UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0Handbook minimum 2.0 GPA for team participation (not stated as a scholarship-specific rule); below 2.0 triggers mandatory study hall — — — — — Participation contingent on eligibility and full-time status; code of conduct; no pro/non-collegiate play in season without approval; misconduct can mean loss of scholarship
Manchester UniversityUp to $6,000 · source 2.0Maintain 2.0 college GPA (stated as player expectation) — — — — — For esports team members; specify intent on admission application; weekly practices (8 hrs/week).
Minnesota State University, MankatoUp to $2,000 · source 2.0Varsity team eligibility (degree-seeking, good academic standing); scholarship listing itself states no GPA 12 — — — Yes Rolfsrud-Wallerstedt Esports Scholarship: must be a Maverick Esports participant, a current first-year student, and align to an underrepresented population; applications open each February (2026 deadline 02/28/2026). Game accounts must have no bans in past 365 days (team rule).
Mississippi Delta Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0maintain a minimum 2.0 GPA 15 — — — — Must be enrolled in at least 15 credit hours.
Northwest Missouri State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.02.0 GPA for all Northwest coursework at end of academic year 12 — — — — Practice and play in person 6 hours/week; enroll and live on campus for first year.
Seminole State CollegeUp to $1,000 · source 2.0maintain cumulative 2.0 per semester 12 — — — — Esports team member; meet Financial Aid SAP standards; complete 12 credit hours in the semester to retain; good academic standing, no probation/suspension/conduct violations; awarded per semester; fall deadline is the first Monday in September.
St. Cloud State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.0Team eligibility: 2.0 most-recent-semester or cumulative GPA; no scholarship-specific GPA 12 — — — — Scholarships for Varsity and Academy team participants; contact esports@stcloudstate.edu for terms.
Stevenson UniversityUp to $2,000 · source 2.02.0 minimum, monitored bi-weekly — Proper rank required; team ranks: Overwatch Varsity Masters+ / Club Plat-Diamond; Valorant Varsity Immortal+ / Club Plat-Ascendant; LoL Emerald+ Yes No Yes Incoming freshmen and transfers; interview with eSports Coordinator; recipients expected to play all four years; cannot combine with Founders' or Seven Oaks scholarships; benefits vary club vs varsity.
University of North Texas at DallasUp to $500 · source 2.0Esports athletes must maintain a 2.00 GPA (team requirement) — — — — — Full-time UNT Dallas or College of Law student in good academic standing; maintain 24 credit hours per academic year; required weekly practice times.
East Tennessee State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 2.52.5 minimum to be considered for a scholarship; 2.5 also required to keep team status — Awards determined by player rank, GPA and position; per-title rank recommendations published — — No Must be a current or incoming full-time ETSU student; recipients must do at least one community service project per year to remain eligible; team tryout requires 3 VODs and an interview; amount depends on skill, academics and financial need.
Southeastern Illinois CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source 2.5Maintain 2.5 in SIC coursework (stated as team requirement) — — — — — Must enroll full-time at SIC; in- and out-of-district students may try out; must commit to on-campus practices and competitions.
University of Mount UnionAid offered · amount varies · source 2.5maintain a GPA over 2.5 — Varsity team in Overwatch 2, Rocket League, Smash Ultimate or Valorant — — — Must not be on academic probation.
University of North TexasAid offered · amount varies · source 2.5Minimum cumulative 2.50 undergraduate, 3.00 graduate (scholarship); varsity page also requires cumulative GPA above 2.5 — Rocket League Grand Champion 2+; Overwatch Masters+; League of Legends Diamond 2+ (varsity page lists LoL Masters+) — — No Varsity players must be full-time; FAFSA encouraged but not required; any classification/major, undergrad or grad; Qualtrics form plus tryout scrimmage evaluated by varsity players and coaches; deadline 05/01/2027
Edgecombe Community CollegeUp to $1,000 · source 2.62.6 unweighted high-school GPA to qualify — Proven gaming experience (no rank stated) — — Yes U.S. citizen; 2026 high school graduate of Edgecombe or a surrounding county; continuously enrolled in a financial-aid-eligible degree program; must meet additional gaming requirements set by the coach to keep receiving funds. Deadline March 15, notified by April 15, accept by May 15. $2,000 over two years.
Northwest State Community CollegeFull tuition · source 2.752.75 to obtain full-tuition (2.5 to keep); 2.5 to obtain half-tuition (2.0 to keep) — — Yes — — Renewable up to 3 years; active member of an Esports team roster; regular practice attendance; professional representation; participate in official events; adhere to Team Member Agreement and Esports Scholarship Agreement; for members who go above and beyond supporting esports events/operations; admission application required.
Oklahoma City UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source 3.03.0 GPA to renew — — Yes — — Select number of varsity members based on tryout performance; renewed yearly by Esports Director based on performance, team participation and good academic standing.
Arizona Western CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Scholarships for Varsity (Tier 1) players; varsity requires full-time enrollment, good academic standing and passing tryouts.
Baker CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source —Renewal requires maintained 'athletic and academic eligibility'; no GPA figure stated 12 — Yes No — Esports Varsity Scholarship: complete FAFSA annually; renewal determined annually based on eligibility and continued participation with The Swarm varsity team; recipients not eligible for other Baker College-funded scholarships.
Barton CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — Yes 'Scholarships are available for incoming students'; complete recruiting form, then be admitted to Barton.
Bellevue UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Bruin Advantage Scholarship support is for residential students.
Bethany Lutheran CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source —Third-party listing (scholarships.com) claims 2.0 GPA and full-time; not confirmed on an official page — — — — — Scholarship recipients may not also compete in other NCAA III sports (per earlier capture of blc.edu/esports).
Bevill State Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — All interested students may try out regardless of scholarship availability.
Blinn CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — 12 — — — — Scholarship opportunities for walk-on players; prospective players must be enrolled in 12+ credit hours.
Catawba CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Varsity players on the esports team receive scholarships.
Champlain CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Varsity players, managers and coaches eligible; details shared after trying out at annual (or mid-semester) tryouts; varsity athletes must meet minimal physical fitness and community service requirements. General Champlain policy: outside scholarships usually do not reduce Champlain awards.
College of Southern IdahoAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — KMVT news (May 2026): 'To compete, student-athletes must stay enrolled full-time with a 2.0 GPA' (team eligibility, not stated as scholarship terms).
Concordia University TexasUp to $250 · source — — — — Yes — Exclusively for students recruited as esports athletes; $250/yr paid $125 fall + $125 spring.
Crowder CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source —must maintain a minimum cumulative GPA (value not stated) — — Yes — — Renewable up to three consecutive semesters if required GPA and athletic requirements are maintained; 'Auditions, tryouts, and/or portfolios may also be required'; amounts set by coach/AD; contingent on funding. Flyer says scholarships are 'stackable with some restrictions' but the scholarships page says students may receive only one Crowder-funded tuition scholarship.
Eastern Wyoming CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Release: Tier 2 and Tier 1 teams only open to full-time students in contact with the coach (team eligibility, not stated as scholarship terms).
ECPI UniversityUp to $600 · source — — Varsity = highest-ranking players for each game — — No Must meet competitive and academic requirements (not specified); varsity members 'may be eligible'; current ECPI students may try out (year-round Discord tryouts); varsity practice up to 4 times a week.
Ellsworth Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Release says scholarships help with tuition and the program welcomes gamers of all skill levels; contact coach about tryouts and scholarships. No terms published.
Emporia State UniversityUp to $2,000 · source — — — — Yes — June 2025 news: scholarships are stackable with other academic or financial aid awards.
Ferris State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Team members must be current Ferris students and follow the team practice and match schedule; tryouts (playing with current members) held before league matches. Partial scholarships for GLIAC-related titles.
Fresno Pacific UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Recruit profile form leads to tryout info; no scholarship terms published
Graceland UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — Yes — Yes Core athletics scholarship (general, not esports-specific): entering first-year and transfer students; must participate at varsity or JV level as player, manager or coach; primary sport only; core awards renewable up to four years
Harrisburg University of Science and TechnologyAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Page only says students receive academic scholarships and may live in Storm Shelter esports dorm; no terms
Hawaii Pacific UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — Yes Awarded to a select number of incoming undergraduates interested in joining the team; $1,000-$6,000/yr; requires esports scholarship application (third-party listings say admissions application also required)
Hutchinson Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — Yes — General HutchCC scholarship terms: students can receive multiple HutchCC scholarships; priority deadline Feb 15. No esports-specific terms.
Kettering UniversityUp to $5,000 · source —Must be academically admitted; no GPA stated — — Yes — Yes For new entering students who are active competitors; renewed annually based on continuing participation. Apply and be admitted by 11:59 p.m. April 1; submit a tracker profile (or written summary). Financial need may be considered.
Kishwaukee CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Athletic scholarships 'available to students who participate on a current Kish athletic team'; contact Athletic Director or head coach.
Lesley UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Scholarships for 'qualifying players' in all titles; qualification not defined. Tryouts run on Discord via head coach.
Louisburg CollegeUp to $5,000 · source — — Top 3 finish in a game title at Carolina Games Summit tournaments — — — —
Maryville UniversityUp to $2,000 · source — — — — — — Eligibility listed as tryouts (CS:GO, LoL, Hearthstone, HotS, Overwatch); freshman priority date May 1; listed in Freshman (fall entry only) and Transfer club/participation tables; amounts subject to change
McKendree UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Teams decided through skill-based tryouts (summer and between fall/spring); 'Scholarship opportunities for new students'; esports applicant form
Messiah UniversityUp to $5,000 · source —Must meet minimum GPA requirements to renew (number not stated) — Active competitive history in a supported title; preference for high-ranking play Yes Yes Yes Incoming first-year or transfer; interview with head coach; renewal requires consistent play, contributing to the program and satisfactory academic progress; stacks on Provost and Messiah merit awards.
Northwood UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Awarded on merit level coming into the program; amount determined by esports coach; 2019 launch article: must meet initial academic eligibility requirements and maintain good academic standing to compete
Ohio Wesleyan UniversityUp to $5,000 · source — — — — — — Offered each year to students who intend to participate in the esports program; based on skill and merit.
Ottawa UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — 2020 article: no full rides offered
Rochester Institute of TechnologyUp to $2,000 · source — — — — — No 20 awards for new students plus performance-based awards for select current students; also for esports operations roles. 2025-26 deadline March 21; esports page says 2026-27 scholarships closed, reopening spring for 2027-28.
Saint Francis UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Scholarship Team players must meet NACE eligibility/clearance.
Shelton State Community CollegeAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — For players who demonstrate commitment to the team; awarded on merit and longevity (coach, news report).
Southern New Hampshire UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — No Open to students of any major; offered to new and current students (2018 press release).
The University of AkronUp to $2,500 · source —Search snippet of a varsity page (crfb.uakron.edu/esports/varsity) cited 2.5 GPA, but that page could not be fetched; not recorded — — — — Yes Varsity team members could earn $1,000-$2,500; 'Any prospective or incoming first-year student studying in any major is eligible to apply'; interest form for varsity recruiting
The University of MontanaAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Must be a participating member of the UM Esports Team (verified before selection); undergraduates; preference to Bitterroot Valley communities (Lolo, Florence, Ravalli County) per AcademicWorks listing (seen via search, page redirects); UM blog: recipients must take part in two charitable events per year
The University of Texas at DallasAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Scholarships go to varsity players; varsity roster set by application plus tryouts in first week of fall semester.
Thomas CollegeUp to $10,000 · source — — Based on individual skill level (no threshold) — — — —
University of Arkansas at MonticelloAid offered · amount varies · source —GPA is a factor in award; no minimum stated — Game/rank/role considered; no threshold published — — — Awards consider financial aid, game/rank/role, GPA and team needs; determined at the start of every fall semester.
University of California, IrvineUp to $6,000 · source — — High in-game rank (top 1%) listed as team eligibility — — — Must be an enrolled UC Irvine student to compete and try out; tryouts early fall quarter; about 15 hours/week team commitment in season; awards ($3,000 or $6,000/yr) distributed through UCI Financial Aid
University of OklahomaAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Scholarship support for some intercollegiate esports students depends on fundraising each semester.
University of PikevilleAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — No terms on official pages; 2015 news coverage only says holders meet the same academic standards as other athletes.
University of Saint FrancisAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Recruiting for Fall 2025 in Rocket League, Valorant, Overwatch 2, Smash; contact head coach
Waldorf UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — Yes Yes For incoming freshmen and transfers who join the varsity-level club esports team and are not receiving an athletic or participation scholarship; stacks on academic merit aid up to the stacking-limit policy
West Virginia Wesleyan CollegeUp to $6,000 · source — — — — Yes — —
Western Kentucky UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Program (team) open to full-time undergraduate and graduate WKU students; no scholarship terms published.
Wichita State UniversityAid offered · amount varies · source — — — — — — Awards based on experience, roster needs and financial need; varsity requires tryout, full-time status, meeting academic standards and attending practices/matches.
William Jewell CollegeUp to $3,500 · source — — — — — — Apply via Esport Talent Scholarship form on the esports page.
WSU TechUp to $5,000 · source — — — — — — Awarded considering the student's financial aid situation, preferred game, game skill, role and team needs; scholarships determined at the beginning of every fall semester; cover tuition and fees only; athletes volunteer a few hours a year in the community; open tryouts held for current or potential students.

"—" means the program doesn't state it. Some GPA and credit rules are team requirements that apply to scholarship players; the note under the GPA says so. Terms change each season: confirm with the coach. 31 more programs offer esports scholarships without publishing terms; see the full scholarship list.

Questions & answers

What are the requirements for an esports scholarship?

Typically: admission to the college, a roster spot (tryout or recruiting), full-time enrollment, a minimum GPA and staying on the team in good standing. Among programs that publish a GPA minimum, the median is 2.0. 13 programs also publish a game rank or skill requirement.

What GPA do you need for an esports scholarship?

Published minimums range from 2.0 to 3.0, with a median of 2.0. Some apply to high-school GPA for incoming players and some to college GPA to keep the award.

What rank do you need for an esports scholarship?

Only 13 of the programs we checked publish a rank or skill requirement, and they vary by game. Most decide through tryouts and recruiting evaluations. See each program's page for its exact wording.

Are esports scholarships renewable?

Usually, if you stay on the roster and meet GPA and credit rules. 10 programs explicitly say their award is renewable; others renew at the coach's discretion each year.

Can you combine an esports scholarship with other aid?

Sometimes. 6 programs say their esports award stacks with other scholarships or grants, and 2 say it can't be combined with certain other institutional awards. Always ask how the esports award affects your academic and need-based aid.

More guides